Making contingency plans

Updated 2 April to include list of Tower Hamlets Council approved care agencies

Most people will have a contingency plan in their existing support plan. But it might only include things like “rely on other PAs/carers” or “get a family member to help” or “get extra support from an agency”. These options might not be possible at the moment because other people might get ill, or be forced to isolate separately from you. In addition many agencies are currently under extreme pressure because their own staff are already self-isolating.

So it’s important that you think now about what would happen if your current arrangements aren’t going to work. Remember that this might happen at short notice, and be for 7 or 14 days. Consider asking yourself the following questions, and discussing them with people around you:

  • What would happen if you became ill?
  • What would happen if your PA/carer became ill (when at home, or on a shift)?
  • What would you do if someone you live with develops symptoms (and therefore the household needs to isolate for 14 days)?
  • What would you do if someone your PA/carer lives with develops symptoms (and therefore their whole household needs to isolate for 14 days)?
  • Have you contacted agencies (or maybe former PAs/carers) for backup arrangements in advance?You can also contact organisations like PA Pool or Independent Living Alternatives.
  • Have you got a list of other family and friends that could help out as a matter of last resort?
  • Is there anyone you need to train on anything now (e.g. using specialist equipment, or manual handling training)?
  • Have you considered using community-based help or other ways of getting access to things like food?

Contacting local care agencies

Tower Hamlets Council have provided the list of home care agencies below. They operate on a locality basis, and it’s advised that direct payments users contact their locality provider first. This will reduce the amount of travelling for care workers as well as the risk of cross infection. But you can contact any provider as not all providers will have capacity to provide additional support. They are under pressure because of extra demand, and reduced availability of their own staff pool.


Quadrant

Provider Org

Office

Tel No

Registered Manager

Email

NW

Mi Homecare

Mihomecare – Islington Branch
Unit 3.5 and 3.6 Islington Studio,
159-163 Marlborough Road,
London N19 4NF

T: 03331217601

Gbemisola Akinyemi

Gbemisola.Akinyemi@MiHomecare.com
 

NE

Diversity Health and Social Care (Bow branch)

Unit G12
Bow House Business Centre
153 – 159 Bow Road
E3 2SE

020 89813031

Elizabeth
Macharia

elizabeth.m@diversityhealthandsocialcare.co.uk
 

NE

Unique Personnel UK Ltd (Newham branch)

263 High Street
Stratford
E15 2LS

0208 552 7111

Kehinde
Bola Arusuraire
Grace Aghoghovbia

kehinde.arusuraire@unique-personnel.com
grace@unique-personnel.com

 


SW
Apasen

Carmine Wharf, 30 Copenhagen Place, E14 7FF

0207 001 2266

Mr
Shuab Ahmed
Matiur Rahman

Zahira Zeebah,


shuab.ahmed@apasen.org.uk
Matiur.rahman@apasen.org.uk

zeebah.zahira@apasen.org.uk


SW

Three Sisters Care

Montefiore Centre
Hanbury St, London E1 5HZ

0207 790 6057 Office
07971452101 – Claire (CEO)
Team Managers:
John 07376 295572
Luigi 07957781630
Sabina 07908 477717
Adepeju 07983556225

Lesley Wickens
Claire O’Donovan

manager@threesisterscare.co.uk
Lesley@threesisterscare.co.uk
Claire@threesisterscare.co.uk

SE

Care Solution Bureau Ltd

22 Market Square, Poplar, London, E14 6AB

0207 375 1444

Mr
Abdi Rashid Gulaid
Mohamed Mire

agulaid@caresolutionbureau.co.uk
mmire@caresolutionbureau.co.uk

SE

Excelcare

33 Narrow
Street
Limehouse
London E14 8DP

0207 780 9484

Mrs
Kelly Morris
Vida Boamah

kelly.morris@excelcareholdings.com
vida.boamah@excelcareholdings.com
Skip to toolbar